Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2012-12-20 - 8:34 p.m.

I've read a few articles about posting depressing and intimate news--of the bad kind, on Facebook. I feel like part of the younger generation who has no problem about coming on here and posting about my father's death, or even posting about a divorce. My parents would never do something like that. One article I read stated that the mother was taken aback when she found out her son posted about his father's death onto Facebook that very day. One mother posted about her unborn daughter being given no chance of survival(She lived for 15 hours after birth). The argument holds that it's much easier to post such news instead of calling each important person in your life...and breaking down in tears each time(I for one could hardly tell people in person that my dad had died). And also, how about the time you were given really bad news from someone, and were just totally unable to respond? When you post something like that on Facebook or social site, you give people a chance to read it, form proper wording, and carefully chosen and meaningful words. On the opposite argument, therapists say you lose out on the grieving process, since you don't feel the feelings---you post something and appear to show bravado. It is far better to tell people in person, because you feel the feelings, and it's very real. Our parents had to make 50 uncomfortable phone calls, and they did...and they survived it.
My point? Post all your bad news...all your feelings. Show me you are a real person. I don't judge you....in fact I might feel closer to you. It might help you to have 100 people respond to your situation.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!